“Five, Eight, Eight, Two-Three Hundred”

Dear Empire Carpet Guy,

I hope you have gone to a better place and I wish your family and friends my condolences. For anyone who doesn’t live in the Chicagoland area, you probably have someone like Elmer Lynn Hauldren — a local actor who stars in commercials for a local business and becomes something of a local celebrity (although I gather that Empire grew beyond the Chicagoland area making Mr. Hauldren popular with millions). Here in Chicago (and the surrounding suburbs) those Empire Carpet commercials (see above) were so ubiquitous growing up that everyone knew who the Empire Carpet commercial guy was. Sometime in the late 80s or early 90s when I was home from college (in the Spring or Summer), I ran into Mr. Hauldren at a local gas station in Glenview — of course I excitedly approached him and sang the jingle. He loved it and shook my hand. He and the Empire Carpet commercials (those with him in a starring role) will be missed.

About Fake Herzog

See the about page on the blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Five, Eight, Eight, Two-Three Hundred”

  1. Empire Today says:

    Thank you for posting in remembrance. Elmer Lynn Hauldren will always have a special place in the hearts of many. Our thoughts go out to his family during this time.

  2. I am not surprised that Empire themselves would do the honor of leaving a thank you note. Not only a class company, but in many ways your post was the epitome of what Mr. Hauldren wanted (“Someone remembered the jingle I wrote!”), and what a decent guy he really was. I think you really captured his personality well.

Leave a Reply

