Sometimes Libertarians Are Crazy, Part 68

Dear Don Boudreaux,

I really like your style and I have learned a lot about economics from reading your blog and your writing, especially your well-crafted letters to the editor (you know how I love letters). But like many libertarians, you get goofy about the truth of being human and how human society actually works (see e.g. immigration). Which is why even when it comes to economics, I have to take everything you write with a grain of salt.

However, your latest attack on the “war on drugs” (I’m no fan of the name either as I don’t think we should be thinking about domestic public policy in terms of war and peace — it is a category error that leads to sloppy thinking) was just silly (I’m comment #18, although I may pop up in later comments as well) and when I did some Googling and found out that one of your martyrs for the cause was someone I doubt the Boudreauxs would enjoy having as a next door neighbor, well I thought you might at least be open to the idea that not all our public officials are out to get innocent people.

Apparently my comment prompted some further crazed indignation in you, but my advice for you is that when you find yourself in a hole, stop digging. Or, as even better advice, I’ll recommend you go over to City Journal (which I’ve just added to the blog roll) and read everything you can by Heather MacDonald and Theodore Dalrymple, two of the best conservatives writing about crime and public policy today. I’ll close with this quote, from a recent piece by Heather:

The national crime drop of 41 percent since 1991 is also the longest and largest national decline in modern history, one wholly unforeseen by criminologists. It was made possible by the increased incarceration rate, which achieved its maximum effect in the 1990s, and by the spread of New York–style data-driven policing. Most significant is that the national crime rate has fallen in each of the last three years, putting the final nail in the coffin of the liberal conceit that a bad economy drives otherwise law-abiding individuals into crime.

About Fake Herzog

See the about page on the blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes Libertarians Are Crazy, Part 68

  1. Formerly.JP98 says:

    Nice blog (found you through one of your comments on OneSTDV). I look forward to reading more of it.

    • Fake Herzog says:

      Thanks for the words of encouragement. One’s blog was one of the main inspirations to me to start my own blog and I’m so glad he decided not to quit blogging for good. I’m going to try and post more regularly, but it is hard between work, my family, and all my other activities including all the other reading I do. I should have some new material this weekend — the wife and kids and leaving me alone for a couple of days!

Leave a Reply

