Wait Until the EEOC Hears About What I Told My Turkish Friend Last Friday…

The text in the above slide says the following:

“Khalilah is a Muslim, and Janice is a Catholic. One day, Khalilah loses her favorite ring. Janice grabs Khalilah’s hands, bows her head, and starts praying to St. Anthony, the patron saint of lost things. Khalilah pulls her hands back and reminds Janice that she is a Muslim. Janice gets upset, tells Khalilah that she will never find her ring because she is a heathen, and storms off. Over the next couple of weeks, Janice stops by Khalilah’s desk over and over again to ask if she found her ring. When Khalilah said that she had not, Janice would smirk and tell her it is because she refuses to pray to St. Anthony. As a new employee, Khalilah is scared to mention anything to her supervisor, because she knows her supervisor is also Catholic.”

Dear EEOC,

I have a good friend at my job who is Turkish (I work for the City of Chicago) and since last Friday, October 7, 2011, was the feast day of Our Lady of the Rosary, celebrating the awesome victory of the Holy League against Ali Pasha and the Ottoman Empire, I thought I’d mention the holiday to “Yil” as a friendly way to share in a cross-cultural exchange. I casually mentioned how Don Juan (or if you prefer, John of Austria) saved Western Europe from the marauding Muslim forces that had already ravaged the island of Cyprus and their Venetian defenders. I asked Yil if he wouldn’t mind saying a Hail Mary with me in honor of that holy victory all those years ago and when he seemed uncomfortable at the prospect I simply reminded him that our Director was Catholic and fought in Iraq against vicious Muslims so he wouldn’t want to make trouble would he? After we prayed together I told Yil that if only his own barbaric people had converted en mass and prayed regularly to the Virgin Mary like they should, would they avoid the fate of the Lepanto fleet. I think Yil got the message. Just wondering — did I violate any EEOC rules and regulations?

About Fake Herzog

See the about page on the blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wait Until the EEOC Hears About What I Told My Turkish Friend Last Friday…

  1. Blogmaster says:

    LOL. You’ve got some talent there, Singer. 😉

  2. teageegeepea says:

    You seem like an alright kind of guy. And you’re a Chicagoan. But, you work for the city, and that makes you a parasite.

    • Fake Herzog says:

      Thanks for stopping by and the compliments (I take it you like Chicagoans).

      As for your criticism, do you really think every single public servant is a parasite? I’m certainly of the opinion that many public sector workers are not productive or useful in their current jobs and that the federal government, as well as state and local governments need to shrink. But “shrink” does not equal a workforce of zero.

    • teageegeepea says:

      I am a Chicagoan, so it’s basic tribalism for me to be preferential.

      I don’t actually know what you do to serve the public good, I just like making blanket assumptions.

    • JH says:

      He’s half-Jewish. Even if he didn’t work for the city he’d still be a parasite.

  3. asdf says:

    > As for your criticism, do you really think every single public servant is a parasite?

    To first order, in today’s society, yes. Maybe 90%.

Leave a Reply

